Bideford Snooker League


Bideford Snooker LeagueResultsHandicapsFixturesTeamsRulesNewsGallery – Sponsors – League Tables

Front cover pic'


2015 – 16 Season

Sponsored by

Haines logo


Life President: Mr. A. Loze

President: Mr. G. Glover

Vice President: Mr. M. Board

Chairman: Mr. J. Wright

Secretary:  Mr. D. Copp

1 Bevil Close, Bideford EX39 5XN Mobile: 07966 934498

Treasurer: Mr. J. Thompson

31 Devonshire Park, Bideford EX39 5HZ

Tel: 01237 474707; Mobile: 07990 596272

Fixtures Secretary: Mr. G. James

1 Alexandra Terrace, Diddywell Road, Northam EX39 1EE Tel: 01237 424370; Mobile: 07773 342012

Competitions Secretary: Mr. J. Wright  C/O Bideford Police Station

Website Manager:  Mr. J. Wright

Honorary Accountant: Mr. C. Heal


Above members plus

P. Hocking, L. Barker, J. Toon


SCRATCH CUP (team) – Wednesday 2nd March 2016

YOUTH SINGLES (individual) – Wednesday 9th March 2016

SCRATCH SINGLES (individual) – Wednesday 16th March 2016

VETERANS SINGLES (individual) – Wednesday 23rd March 2016

HANDICAP SINGLES (individual) – Wednesday 30th March 2016

HANDICAP PAIRS – Wednesday 6th April 2016

KENNY WALTERS MEMORIAL – Thursday 14th April 2016

HANDICAP CUP (team) – Thursday 21st April 2016

ROLL OF HONOUR 2014/2015

Division 1 Winners  –Torrington Con Men 

Division 1 Runners-Up  –Royal Geezers

Division 2 Winners  – RNDGC ‘A’

Division 2 Runners-Up  – Specials

Scratch Cup Winners  – Liberal Slickers

Scratch Cup Runners-Up – Liberal Fliers

Handicap Cup Winners – Clovelly SC

Handicap Cup Runners-Up – Liberal Saints

Kenny Walters Memorial Winners – VPCC

Kenny Walters Memorial Runners-Up – Hartland RBL

Veteran Singles Winner – Kevin Fishleigh (Clovelly SC)

Veteran Singles Runner-Up – John Wright (Specials)

Handicap Singles Winner – Phil Hall (Liberal Saints)

Handicap Singles Runner-Up – Lee Seville (Liberal Slickers)

Handicap Pairs Winners – Gary Sussex & James Lovell (Torrington Con Men)

Handicap Pairs Runners-Up – Jeff Toon & Adam Toon – (Liberal Bulls)

Scratch Singles Winner – Paul Standen (Liberal Slickers)

Scratch Singles Runner-Up – Gary Tubbs (Liberal Slickers)

Youth Singles Winner – Ricky Kelly (VPCC)

Youth Singles Runner-Up – Scott Preston (Liberal Fliers)

Most Improved Player – Scott Preston (Liberal Fliers)

Division 1 Highest Break (110) – Dave Gayton (Liberal Cues)

Division 2 Highest Break (53) – Ross Glover (Wil-Cons)

Competition Highest Break (80) – Kevin Fishleigh (Clovelly SC)

League table 2014 - 15


To be held at the Conservative Club

on MONDAY 20th JUNE 2016


 Some Older News!


Bideford ended a wait of over 25 years to bring snookers premier team prize back to Torridgeside at Tivertons conservative club on Saturday night with a magnificent 4-2 victory over Exeter.

Exeters ex England international put Exeter 1-0 up with a polished performance against Kevin Fishleigh. This was countered by a dominant display by Lee Halling who was authorative against seasoned county player David Howell from Exeter.
18 year old Jake Frank in his first season of county competition for Bideford played confidently aided by a break of 44 defeated ex pro and multi county champion Andy Radford in the pivotal third frame before David Gayton defeated county captain Gareth Clark to take Bideford 3-1 ahead.

Seasoned campaigner Peter Edworthy gave Exeter hope with a typical dogged performance against Bideford’s former county champion Shez Tetley to close the gap to 3-2, before Bideford’s Gary Tubbs destroyed Exeter’s Jamie Denham with a dominant display to bring the trophy back to the Little white town.

Bideford’s captain Nick Kenny said ” it’s an absolute honour to play with such a talented team who play for each other whether win or loose, and that team spirit has held us above the other teams in this competition this year. We in north Devon often get overlooked, but we have proved that as the interest in our sport is growing over the past 18 months we on a county level are up there with the best in the region”.

Bideford have reached the Bilby cup final for the first time in 11 years.

They overcame a spirited Torbay C team 4-1 at the liberal club on Saturday night.

Jake Franks debut resulted in a 1-0 lead beating Ben Francis. Kevin fishleighs experience came to the fore against Alex Mucklow in the second frame. Torbays frame came from Steve Beers black ball win over previously undefeated Lee Halling.

David Gayton provided the highlight of the evening with a stunning 61 clearance to win on the black against Lee McArthur jnr.

Shez Tetley then potted the Torridgesiders into an unassailable 4-1 lead and a place in the final against Exeter A on march 17th.

Gary Tubbs and captain Nick Kenny completed the team line up

2 thoughts on “Bideford Snooker League

  1. Ian Harrison


    I need a little help!

    I am looking for a short snooker cue which is manageable by my 6 yr. old grand son. We have a 1900 quarter size table which we like playing on but a full size cue seems too heavy and cumbersome for him.

    Where can I find a new or second hand cue for him?

    1. admin Post author

      Hi Ian, thanks for the e-mail. I think I might well be able to help you with this request. Though our telescopic cues are useful for young players your 6 year old grandson would be a little young for those cues just yet so maybe in the future. A better alternative might be a model not on our website yet but it is a good little cue from Riley which is designed as a `My first cue` model. I will check the length out and send you more details tomorrow but it will only be about £15. There are also cheaper short Ramin cues which might also be suitable and are cheaper. If you are local you could come over to our showroom and see for yourself (by appointment), or you can also ring me to discuss in more detail if you would like.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *